Scout's Honor

In December 1911 the formation of the first Boy Scout Hockey League in the country was decided at a meeting of representatives of ten of the troops of the Rhode Island Boy Scouts at the scout headquarters at the Journal Building.  The league was formed with the elections of Scoutmaster McSorley as President, Assistant Scout Commissioner Rancourt as Vice President, Scout Master M.R. Macintosh as treasurer and Scout Lee Townsend as Secretary.  They played games on York pond, Benedict pond, as well as the Woonasquatucket river at Greystone.  In the first game of the R.I.B.S. Hockey league Third Cranston Troop defeated the First Providence Troop 1-0.  The Greystone Troop were awarded the pennant as 1912 champions of the league.