Third Time's A Charm

The Journal Bulletin and Evening Bulletin started choosing All-Scholastic, All-Star and All-State hockey teams as far back as 1910 but not annually until the 1926-27 season. The Journal Bulletin chose teams consistently starting in 1929.  There is only a select few who were chosen three consecutive seasons as first team selections.  From the inaugural season in 1902-03 to 1998-99 there have only been seventeen players to be so honored.  Cranston's Fred Cuddy (1926, 1927, 1928) became the first forward and Joe Brogden of Hope (1928, 1929, 1930) the first defenseman to do so.  Cuddy was Cranston's high scoring captain who led Cranston to the 1927 and 1928 pennant and Brogden was a superb two-way player who is remembered for spoiling Cranston's chances of winning the 1929 pennant.
The only player to be selected three straight years in the 1940's was Burrillville's Leo Kraunelis (1947, 1948, 1949).  La Salle's defenseman John Rooney made it three in a row in 1950, 1951 and 1952.  Another Bronco Jerry Zifcak made it at three different selections (1961 utility, 1962 defense and 1963 forward).  Future Olympian Bob Gaudreau of Hope was honored in 1960, 1961 and 1962.  Cranston East's tandem of Joe Cavanagh and Dan DeMichele each made first team selections in 1964, 1965 and 1966.  The first goalie to earn it was La Salle's Tim Regan (1966, 1967, 1968).
Next came Carroll "Red" Gould of Cranston (1929, 1930, 1931).  Gould was the star forward on the legendary undefeated 1931 "Flying Green Thunderbolt" squad which had Anthony Parrillo in net.  Parrillo's first-team selection in 1931 spoiled La Salle goaltender Clem "Turkey" Harnedy's bid for three straight selections as he settled for second team in his junior year.  Flashy forwards Henri Gauron of Mount St. Charles (1932, 1933, 1934) and Walter "Dewey" Kehoe of La Salle (1934, 1935, 1936) completed the decade of three-peats.  
Mount St. Charles sniper John Howard earned selections in 1968, 1969 and 1970 before La Salle netminder Rick Moffit (1971, 1972, 1973) became the second goalie to do so.  Cranston East forward sensation Jim Bucci (1976, 1977, 1978) became the last player until Mount St. Charles defensemen Keith Carney (1987, 1988, 1989) and Jeff Jillson (1996, 1997, 1998) became the final players to earn the distinction of being selected to three straight first team All-State hockey teams in Rhode Island.